Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Across Flanders 2022

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2022

Across Flanders 2022

Dwars door Vlaanderen is a one-day cycling race through Flanders in Belgium. This course has been ridden since 1945, but was then called Dwars door België. Since the turn of the century, the course has been called Dwars door Vlaanderen. The start is in Roeselare and the finish, just like the original round, in Waregem. Since 2012, an edition for women has also been organized.

History Across Flanders

In 1945, the cycling race Across Belgium (À travers la Belgique) was organized for the first time. The start was then in Sint-Truiden and the finish line in Waregem. Over the years, the competition has also been a two-day tour. But from 1965 the competition is one day. Around the turn of the century, the name was renamed Dwars door Vlaanderen. The start was then moved to Roeselare and the finish is still in Waregem. To make room for the Tour of Flanders, Dwars door Vlaanderen has been moved to Wednesdays since 2018, so that the round can be ridden during the weekend. The course was then radically changed to make the races not too similar. For example, extra cobblestone strips have been added and since 2022 also two slopes.

Trail through Flanders

On Wednesday, March 30, it will start in Roeselare and close in Waregem in a classic way. In total, the course is 183.7 km. The fastest riders will cross the finish line around 5:06 PM and the last at 5:31 PM at the latest. In total there are 13 slopes: the Nieuwe Kwaremont, Zeelstraat, Knokteberg – Trieu, Stooktestraat, the Hotond, the Kortekeer, Berg Ten Houte, the Kanarieberg, then again the Knokteberg-Trieu and the Hotond, Ladeauze, Nokereberg and the Holstraat .

The track

Tour of Flanders Route

The slopes

Climbs Tour of Flanders

Winners Across Flanders

Dylan van Baarle won in 2021 and Mathieu van de Poel in 2019. Will it be a Dutchman at number 1 again this year? The Slovenian Tadej Pogačar has a good chance this year. This year he won almost every race. How will he fare on the cobblestones this year? This is familiar territory for previous winner Mathieu van de Poel. Former winner Dylan van Baarle is also back in this round. It promises to be an exciting match!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

All comments are moderated before being published.

read more

Kenmerken van een goed wielershirt voor mannen

Characteristics of a good cycling jersey for men

Good quality cycling clothing is very important for comfort on the bike. A cycling outfit that fits comfortably ensures that you can move freely and that you can fully focus on your ride on the bik...

Read more
De Ronde van het Baskenland 2022  (Itzulia Basque Country)
Wedstrijd en competitie

The Tour of the Basque Country 2022 (Itzulia Basque Country)

Since 2011, the Tour of the Basque Country has been back. That is, with the exception of 2020 in which the competition was halted due to the Covid-19 measures. This year's Itzulia Basque Country i...

Read more